Kick Horns

Tough Talk - mp3 sampler - mono (226k)  

mp3 sampler in stereo (525k )
Simon C Clarke : alto and baritone saxophones
Roddy Lorimer : trumpet
Tim Sanders : tenor saxophone
Annie Whitehead : trombone
Winston Blissett : bass
Mike Gorman : keyboards
Adam Phillips : guitar
Ashley Soan : drums
special guest: Martin Ditcham : percussion
Ian Maidman : producer

Recorded at Helioscentric Studios
Additional overdubs and mixing at Positive Earth

Kick Horns are Europe's most enduring and soulful horn section. Together since 1983, Roddy Lorimer, Simon C Clarke and Tim Sanders have arranged and recorded with everybody from Jamiroquai ('Synkronized') to Baaba Maal ('Firin' in Fouta'), the Stereo MC's ('Connected') to Dr John ('Anutha zone'), with the Rolling Stones, Spiritualized, Blur and Groove Armada. They toured with Eric Clapton's band during the "Nothing but the Blues" period 1993-96 ('From the cradle') and have also been on the road with the Who, Deacon Blue, Spiritualized and the Waterboys.

The Other Foot is the first, long overdue album under their own name: a groove-based collection of favourite tunes and originals reflecting the wide range of their musical passions. Tracks include tunes by the Meters, John Scofield and the African Jazz Pioneers, as well as a blues drenched account of the King Curtis classic Soul Serenade and the vibrant dub of Burning Spear’s Black Disciples.

Kick Horns are joined here by trombonist Annie Whitehead, who has been an essential part of their sound on many sessions over the years. One of the brightest stars on the jazz scene, her own CDs include Naked and The Gathering. She was MD for Soup Songs - the music of Robert Wyatt and has worked with the Penguin Cafe Orchestra, Brotherhood of Breath, McCoy Tyner and the Charlie Watts Orchestra.

The tight, red-hot rhythm section comprises ace bassman Winston Blissett (Massive Attack, Robbie Williams, Lionel Richie) with rising stars Ashley Soan, Mike Gorman, and Adam Phillips, whose credits between them include Squeeze, Cher, Incognito, Hamish Stuart and Faithless.

      1. TOUGH TALK (Joe Sample, Wayne Henderson, Stix Hooper)
      2. SLICK IS (Alvin Tyler)
      3. GNASHER (Tim Sanders)
      4. I’LL TAKE LES (John Scofield)
      5. BLACK DISCIPLES (W Rodney)
      6. HEART (Roddy Lorimer, Simon C Clarke)
      7. HEADS UP (Simon C Clarke)
      8. SOUL SERENADE (Curtis Ousley, Luther Dixon)
      9. YEH YOU’RE RIGHT (Modeliste, Neville, Nocentelli, Porter)
      10. NONTO SANGOMA (Zakes Nkosi)


enter store
(Kick Horns website)

e-mail Kick Horns catalogue